DIY Elegant Cake Stand


cake stand img

cake stand

I can tell you a thing or two about DIY cake stands… I want to first tell you, do not believe everything you see on Pinterest. No matter how cool or “easy” something may look, it can have a major downfall. I’ve found this especially true with cake stands. Many of the tutorials involve using spray paint to color the plate. Now let’s take a step back and just think about this. Plates are made the way they are because it is safe. Spray paint has so many chemicals in it, many in which are harmful if ingested. These chemicals can absorb into the food, or can be easily transferred onto the food itself, no good my friends, no good.

I purchased this plate at my local dollar store for just $1. Cheaper than a can of spray paint, and still much cheaper and flexible than a brand new cake stand! So instead of spraying your old dinnerware, head on over to the store and purchase a cheap plate that is already the color you want it to be.

Now that we have that settled, lets get on with what I’ve created here!

I used a short glass candlestick holder for the base; I purchased this one from the dollar store as well. This is what is holding everything together under that pink fabric you see there! I initially painted the candle holder, but was really unhappy with the outcome, it needed something more. I had this fabric laying around, so I decided to make a pretty little cover for it.

This slip was very easy to make by just cutting out a large circle and sewing a seam. If you do not have a sewing machine, this may take a little extra time on your part, but definitely still doable with a needle and thread. To finish it off, I tied a silver and white ribbon around the middle.

Leave a Reply

