How I Converted This Kitchen Table Into A Workspace:


Ever since we moved into our new place, Con-Tact Paper has been my absolute best friend. For those of you who are unfamiliar with Con-Tact Paper, it can be purchased at almost any convenience store. Some even carry their own brands as well. To name a few I’ve found it at Meijer, Menards, Walmart, Lowes, Home Depot, and Jo-Ann Fabric. It is relatively cheap too, I paid about $6 for a roll that is 1.5′ x 6.5′ and to say the least, it goes a long way.

Every single time, I get flawless results. It’s awesome because we’re in a rental, and its much easier to apply and get rid of than paint. Not only that, but it looks great on every surface. Needless to say, I’ve been throwing it on almost everything I own. Just yesterday, my boyfriend made a joke to me that one day he’s going to come home to our daughter wrapped up in Con-Tact Paper. So this is no joke, my friends. Its everywhere.

I’m going to show my most recent project because it’s one of my absolute a far, and I’m so excited to share. Let me also continue by saying that this is not permanent. If you don’t like it, or want to change the way it looks, the contact paper can be easily taken off without damaging the table. You can’t say the same for paint!

    Lately I have been thinking about how badly I need a desk/workspace for my computer and sewing machine. I am notorious for cutting corners when it comes to spending money, so I was just waiting for the perfect idea to pop up.  For some reason, I thought it might be a cool idea to turn my kitchen table into a desk. I put the idea of using a table cloth in the back of my mind, because desks normally do not have a table cloth laying across them. I searched online only to find people who used power drills and saws, which lets be honest, not everyone has those laying around. So, I just decided to beautify this small table and go from there.

I also wanted to add that there are a ton of different styles of Con-Tact Paper out there, I chose plain white for this project because black & white is one of my favorite color combinations to work with. A really neat idea I thought up would be to get the chalk adhesive Con-Tact paper and add it onto the table for quick notes!

  •    My first step was to lay out the Con-Tact Paper across the table, leaving about 3 inches extra on each end. I used the handy grid on the back to cut a straight line across, then cut a second strip of the same size for the second half of the table. If you’re looking to do this on a larger table, you may have to cut an extra strip. This is a relatively small table, measuring at 32″ wide.
  •    The next step, I simply peeled off the backing and lined it up with the table, leaving my 3* inches hang from all 3 sides of the table (front and 2 sides). Then repeated the same steps with my second piece of Con-Tact Paper.
  •    I waited until the last step to tuck in the corners and sides so I made them all match the way I wanted them to. This was the part that was most time consuming for me, just because I’m a perfectionist when it comes to the small details. The table I used this on has rounded off edges, so the wrinkled corners were almost inevitable, I was definitely able to give it a professional look even despite having the rounded edges.

   That’s it! This project took me a grand total of 50 minutes from start to finish, all while keeping my 8 month old occupied. The outcome was even better than what I had ever imagined, I added this orange hand-painted vase to add a pop of color, my computer, and sewing machine, all together gave it a great look for an open workspace, and very functional!

I will also be posting more on my other Con-Tact projects, these include my bathroom cabinets, living room wall, a children’s bookshelf, DIY wall decals, and much more. I was not kidding when I said this stuff is everywhere!

Be sure to follow this page to receive updates on future DIY projects!

2 thoughts on “How I Converted This Kitchen Table Into A Workspace:

  1. Closet Update!! (And other updates) | marygempel

Leave a Reply

